Skip to Common Activities

Skip to Content

TABC Commissioners

The policy-making body of the agency is a three-member governing board appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate. Members of the commission hold office for staggered terms of six years, with the term of one member expiring every two years. Each member must be a Texas resident and must have resided in the state for at least five years preceding the appointment. Commission members serve without salary.

The commission is currently comprised of Presiding Officer José Cuevas, Jr., of Midland; Commissioner Steven M. Weinberg, MD, JD, of Colleyville; and Ida Louise "Weisie" Steen of San Antonio.

José Cuevas, Jr.

Presiding Officer - Midland

Presiding Officer José Cuevas, Jr., of Midland is the founder and CEO of JumBurrito, Inc., and JumBurrito Franchises, LLC. He is President of Midland County Fresh Water Supply District #1 (board of supervisors), and is a member of Community National Bank of Midland (board of directors). Governor Rick Perry named Cuevas Presiding Officer of the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission in 2008. In November 2010, Cuevas was reappointed for a second term to expire November 15, 2015.

Steven M. Weinberg, MD, JD

Member - Colleyville

Commissioner Steven M. Weinberg of Colleyville is a retired associate director of the U.S. Peace Corps. He is a past member of the Texas Medical Society, the Tarrant County Medical Society, and is a diplomate of the American College of Surgeons. He is a member of the State Bar of Texas, and a past member of the Tarrant County Bar Association and Tarrant County American Legion Post 379. Additionally, Weinberg is past president of the Hurst-Euless-Bedford (HEB) Rotary Club, past board member of the HEB YMCA, and past officer and director of the HEB Chamber of Commerce.

Weinberg is a veteran of the United States Air Force. He received a medical degree from the University of Iowa College of Medicine, and a law degree from Southern Methodist University College of Law. He was appointed in 2008 to replace Gail Madden of Dallas. In November 2011, Weinberg was reappointed for a second term to expire November 15, 2017.

Ida Clement Steen

Member - San Antonio

Commissioner Ida Louise "Weisie" Clement Steen is an investor and board member of Frost Bank and its parent company, Cullen/Frost Bankers Inc. She is a board member of the Texas A&M San Antonio Foundation, and a member of the MD Anderson Cancer Center Board of Visitors, San Antonio Academy Advisory Council and Santa Gertrudis Heritage Society Board of Governors. She is regent emerita of the Texas A&M University System and a sponsor and past director of the Charity Ball Association of San Antonio. She is past chairwoman of the 2011 Texas Inaugural Committee and the San Antonio Academy Board of Trustees. She is also a past member of the Texas A&M University System Board of Regents, State Preservation Board, 2007 Texas Inaugural Committee, the Santa Rosa Children's Hospital Foundation Endowment Fund Board of Directors in San Antonio, Learning About Learning Educational Foundation, San Antonio Botanical Center Society and Cystic Fibrosis Foundation Advisory Council San Antonio Chapter. She is a past trustee of the Ecumenical Center for Religion and Health and Southwest Texas Methodist Hospital Foundation, past special liaison of the Texas Growth Fund Board and past president of Pan-Texas Assembly.

Steen received a bachelor's degree from Trinity University. She was appointed on June 13, 2014, to replace Melinda Fredericks of Conroe, for a term to expire November 15, 2019.